Pixies announce new album and stream first single

‘Head Carrier’ sees Paz Lenchantin become their official bassist

Pixies release new album ‘Head Carrier’ on September 30, their first with Paz Lenchantin as their official full-time bassist.

‘Head Carrier’ is the second Pixies album since they reformed in 2003, following 2014’s ‘Indie Cindy’. First single ‘Um Chagga Lagga’ can be heard below.

Former A Perfect Circle and Zwan bassist Lenchantin first joined Pixies in 2014 as the touring bassist for ‘Indie Cindy’, following the departure of that album’s bassist Kim Shattuck.


Referring to founding bassist Kim Deal, who left in 2013, Lenchantin – who sings lead vocals on album track ‘All I Think About Now’ – said: “I was very nervous in the beginning when I went to that first rehearsal. There were these shoes I felt I had to fill, and I tried to do the best I could for the fans. I tried to make the live performances true to the originals and I spent three years learning to understand what being a Pixie meant. Now my heart, spirit and love for their music is embedded in me and I feel like I have become a Pixie. We had been more about the history of Pixies, but now we’re going forward.”

The album is made with new producer Tom Dalgety, who has worked with Royal Blood and Killing Joke. For the first time since the band’s early days, Pixies spent six weeks in their studio in London on pre-production, writing and rehearsing the new album.

Drummer David Lovering said: “It was a wonderful luxury to have the time to be able to really work these new songs out. By the time we started recording, we all knew the songs backwards and forwards. So it took half as long to make this album as it did to make ‘Indie Cindy’.”

Pixies play a one-off UK show at Brixton Academy this Monday. A European tour for November has yet to feature any further British gigs.

‘Head Carrier’ is available as a deluxe box-set from Pixies’ website. It includes the CD, vinyl and a 24-page booklet featuring the album’s lyrics and artwork by regular Pixies designer Vaughan Oliver. A second deluxe edition comprises the box-set, unique T-shirt and 12”x12” poster of Oliver’s artwork.


The tracklisting for ‘Head Carrier’ is:
‘Head Carrier’
‘Classic Masher’
‘Baal’s Back’
‘Might As Well Be Gone’
‘Tenement Song’
‘Bel Esprit’
‘All I Think About Now’
‘Um Chagga Lagga’
‘Plaster Of Paris’
‘All The Saints’