Pixies to release acoustic DVD

The indie legends do the opposite of Dylan

Pixies are to released a DVD of their acoustic performance at the 2004 Newport Folk Festival – the same venue where Bob Dylan famously ‘plugged in’ in 1965.

‘Pixies: Acoustic – Live In Newport’, released on August 22, features the indie legends performing stripped-down versions of 22 of their songs.

The DVD package also features a 21-minute behind-the-scenes look at rehearsals for the show, including an attempt at trying to play their classic ‘Debaser’, which ended up being cut from the final set list.


The songs featured on the Pixies DVD are:

‘Bone Machine’


‘Ed Is Dead’

‘All Over The World’



‘Monkey Gone to Heaven’

‘Is She Weird’

‘Here Comes Your Man’

‘River Euphrates’


‘Wave of Mutilation’

‘I Bleed’

‘Crackity Jones’

‘Gouge Away’


‘The Holiday Song’

‘Nimrod’s Son’

‘Mr Grieves’



‘Where Is My Mind?’


The Newport Folk Festival is where Dylan famously caused a furious reaction from folk purists when he performed an electric set.

Meanwhile the premiere of the band’s new documentary ‘LoudQUIETLoud’, which is the warts-and-all tale of their 2004 reunion tour, is premiered at The Edinburgh Film Festival on August 22 and 25. It’s released on DVD on November 4.

Pixies are currently touring Europe, with shows at:

St Pölten Nuke Festival (July 15)

Zagreb SRC Salata Festival (16)

Nyon Paleo Festival (18)

Ile de Gaou Voix du Gaou Festival (19)

Lisbon Pavilhão Atlântico (20)

Benicassim Festival (21)

Carhaix-Plouguer Vieilles Charrues Festival (23)