Pixies star gets some extra special help on new album

A host of legendary musicians join Frank Black

Pixies frontman Frank Black has returned to the studio to rejoin some of the musicians who helped him make his last solo record ‘Honeycomb’.

Steve Cropper, Reggie Young, Spooner Oldham, Anton Fig, Chester Thompson, and David Hood were joined by Levon Helm, Al Kooper, Ian McLagan, Cheap Trick‘s Tom Peterson, Simon Kirke from Bad Company, Lyle Workman, Marty Brown and Jack Clement – as well as producer Jon Tiven – to record 25 new songs, most of them Frank Black originals.

The sessions took place in Nashville, first in October of last year, and most recently last month when Black was in Nashville for the Americana Awards .

Still untitled, no release date has been set, but the new collection should be finished and available in 2006.

Tiven said of the album, “Until we decide how many and what tracks will make it onto the new album we won’t know for sure what the musical direction will be. But it’s going to be great.”

Pixies‘ brand new DVD, ‘Pixies Sell Out’, was released last week (October 3) and the band will tour Japan in December. As reported on NME.COM last week, the band are still deciding on whether or not to make a new album together.