Here Comes Your Band: Pixies announce gigantic 2019 UK and European tour

A new album is coming in September too

Pixies have announced details of a lengthy and European tour for September and October in 2019. Full dates and ticket details are below.

Kicking off in September, the tour coincides with the release of the band’s new album – the follow-up to 2016’s acclaimed ‘Head Carrier‘. Black Francis and co will be calling at Cardiff, Plymouth, Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester, London, Newcastle, Glasgow, Edinburgh, Belfast and Dublin before heading over the continent.

The band’s full upcoming UK and European tour dates are below. Tickets are on sale from 10am on Friday April 5.

Friday September 13, 2019 – CARDIFF Motorpoint Arena (United Kingdom)
Saturday September 14, 2019 – PLYMOUTH Pavilions (United Kingdom)
Monday September 16, 2019 – BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy Birmingham (United Kingdom)
Tuesday September 17, 2019 – LEEDS O2 Academy Leeds (United Kingdom)
Wednesday September 18, 2019 – MANCHESTER O2 Apollo (United Kingdom)
Friday September 20, 2019 – LONDON Alexandra Palace (United Kingdom)
Saturday September 21, 2019 – NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE O2 Academy Newcastle (United Kingdom)
Sunday September 22, 2019 – GLASGOW O2 Academy Glasgow (United Kingdom)
Monday September 23, 2019 – EDINBURGH Usher Hall (United Kingdom)
Wednesday September 25, 2019 – BELFAST Ulster Hall (United Kingdom)
Thursday September 26, 2019 – DUBLIN Olympia Theatre (Ireland)
Sunday September 29, 2019 – OSLO Sentrum Scene (Norway)
Monday September 30, 2019 – STOCKHOLM Cirkus (Sweden)
Tuesday October 1, 2019 – COPENHAGEN KB Hallen (Denmark)
Thursday October 3, 2019 – UTRECHT TivoliVredenburg (Netherlands)
Friday October 4, 2019 – TILBURG 013 (Netherlands)
Saturday October 5, 2019 – BERLIN Colubiahalle (Germany)
Monday October 7, 2019 – COLOGNE Palladium (Germany)
Tuesday October 8, 2019 – PRAGUE Lucerna Music Hall (Czech Republic)
Wedneday October 9, 2019 – VIENNA Gasometer (Austria)
Friday October 11, 2019 – BOLOGNA Estragon (Italy)
Saturday October 12, 2019 – TURIN OGR (Italy)
Sunday October 13, 2019 – ZURICH X-tra (Switzerland)
Tuesday October 15, 2019 – MUNICH Tonhalle (Germany)
Wednesday October 16, 2019 – BRUSSELS Forest National (Belgium)
Thursday October 17, 2019 – LUXEMBOURG Luxexpo (Luxembourg)
Saturday October 19, 2019 – PARIS Olympia (France)
Sunday October 20, 2019 – LYON Le Radiant (France)
Monday October 21, 2019 – RENNES Le Liberte (France)
Wednesday October 23, 2019 – BARCELONA Sant Jordi Club (Spain)
Thursday October 24, 2019 – MADRID Riviera (Spain)
Friday October 25, 2019 – LISBON Campo Pequeno (Portugal)
Saturday October 26, 2019 – GALICIA Coliseum (Spain)

While the title and release date for their forthcoming album is yet to be confirmed, the band recently revealed that it would be trailed by a new podcast called ‘Past Is Prologue‘.

“Imagine that 14 years after returning to the scene, you’re back in the studio recording a new album to build on your legacy and take your place at the forefront of the genre that YOU created,” said the band in a statement. “Imagine that you’re a member… of the Pixies.”

They continued: “Every episode will document the band’s new music, from its earliest stages through to completion, giving fans the opportunity to witness the evolution of the tracks.”

Last year, Pixies celebrated the 30th anniversary of their albums ‘Surfer Rosa’ and ‘Come On Pilgrim’. The band showcased the projects at a five-night residency at London’s Roundhouse.