PJ Harvey releases her new album 'Is This Desire?' in late September...

PJ Harvey will release her new album ‘Is This Desire?’ on September 28.

It was recorded in London during 1997 and 1998 and was co-produced by Harvey and Flood, who has previously worked with U2. The album, released by Island, features 12 tracks: ‘Angelene’, ‘The Sky Lit Up’, ‘The Wind’, ‘My Beautiful Leah’, ‘A Perfect Day Elise’, ‘Catherine’, ‘Electric Light’, ‘The Garden’, ‘Joy’, ‘The River’, ‘No Girl So Sweet’ and ‘Is This Desire?’.

The album features contributions from Bad Seed Mick Harvey. A single will be released prior to the album but the choice has yet to be confirmed. Harvey has enlisted former Captain Beefheart and Pixies multi-instrumentalist Eric Drew Feldman for her forthcoming live dates, which include performances at V98 (Leeds, August 22 and Chelmsford, 23) and Edinburgh Jaffa Cake (25) as part of the Flux Festival.


Guitarist John Parrish, with whom she collaborated on the 1996 album, ‘Dance Hall At Louse Point’, will also be part of the touring line-up. Harvey recently made her acting debut in the Hal Hartley film The Book Of Life, which is due to be screened on Channel 4 later this year. She’s also recorded with Nick Cave and French composer Pascal Comelade.

For V98 tickets call NME‘s 24-hour ticketline on 0870 1212 500. Calls are charged at national (UK) standard rate.

You May Like