PJ Harvey to release new album ‘The Hope Six Demolition Project’ in April

Follow-up to 2011's 'Let England Shake'

PJ Harvey has announced details of new album ‘The Hope Six Demolition Project’.

The album will be released on April 15 and includes new single ‘The Wheel’. A trailer for the album featuring the tracks ‘The Community of Hope’ and ‘The Wheel’, can be viewed below.

The album is the follow-up to 2011’s ‘Let England Shake’ and will be released on April 15. The title of the album could be a reference to a United States Department of Housing and Urban Development programme.


The news of Harvey’s ninth studio record was announced in December alongside a clip of the musician performing a short preview of one heavy-riff based song.

‘The Hope Six Demolition Project’ will be available on vinyl, CD and as a digital download. The full track-listing is:

‘The Community of Hope’
‘The Ministry of Defence’
‘A Line in the Sand’
‘Chain of Keys’
‘River Anacostia’
‘Near the Memorials to Vietnam and Lincoln’
‘The Orange Monkey’
‘The Ministry of Social Affairs’
‘The Wheel’
‘Dollar, Dollar’

The album was created during Harvey and Seamus Murphy’s travels between 2011-2014 to destinations including Kosovo, Afghanistan and Washington, DC. The Hollow Of The Hand, a book of Harvey’s poetry from the same trip, was published last year.

The album was recorded at London’s Somerset House in 2015 during open recording sessions which the public could attend.


Harvey and Murphy also staged a multimedia show in London in October where ten new songs were performed alongside poems, photos and short films from Murphy.

‘Let England Shake’, PJ Harvey’s last studio album, was released in 2011. She has also confirmed a number of festival dates for 2016, including Field Day in London and Barcelona’s Primavera.