PJ Harvey previews the first single from her ninth album – listen

Polly drops a ten-second preview ahead of Thursday's first play

PJ Harvey has posted a preview of her new single – which is yet to be publically named – to social media, ahead of its launch on Thursday.

Steve Lamacq has the first play of the single on BBC 6 Music, with the track to be spun after 4pm on his show on Thursday afternoon.

The track comes ahead of a new album expected in Spring this year, a follow-up to Harvey’s eighth studio album ‘Let England Shake’. The Mercury Award winning ‘Let England Shake’ was named NME’s ‘Album of the Year’ in 2011, and is Harvey’s most commercially successful album since 2000’s ‘Stories from the City, Stories from the Sea’, with the former certified gold in the UK.

Harvey has previously hinted that the new album will continue the political leanings of ‘Let England Shake’.

Listen to the brief clips of the new single via Harvey’s twitter, below:

Harvey confirmed the spring release of her new album in December, launching a preview clip. The album is yet to be titled.

The new record was laid down at London’s Somerset House earlier this year during open recording sessions which the public could attend.

Harvey and Seamus Murphy staged a multimedia show in London in October where ten new songs were performed alongside poems, photos and short films from Murphy.

Harvey played the following songs on the night: ‘Chain Of Keys’, ‘The Wheel’, ‘The Orange Monkey’, ‘Dollar Dollar’, ‘The Community Of Hope’, ‘Homo Sappy Blues’, ‘Medicinals’, ‘Near the Memorials To Vietnam And Lincoln’, ‘River Anacostia’ and ‘The Ministry Of Social Affairs’.

Harvey will play Field Day in London later this year, and has also announced a host of European festivals following the new album.