Adele, Elbow, Tinie Tempah, PJ Harvey shortlisted for Mercury Prize

Katy B, Anna Calvi, James Blake and Metronomy also up for £20,000 award

Adele, PJ Harvey, Elbow and Tinie Tempah are among those shortlisted for the Barclaycard Mercury Prize.

They are joined by Katy B, Everything Everything, Metronomy,James Blake, Anna Calvi, Ghostpoet , King Creosote & Jon Hopkins and Gwilym Simcock.

The shortlisted albums were announced by broadcaster Lauren Laverne in a ceremony at the Hospital Club in London this morning (July 19).

The winner – who will also receive a £20,000 cheque – will be announced on September 6 at the ceremony which will be hosted by Jools Holland.

The Barclaycard Mercury Prize was won in 2010 by The xx for their self-titled debut album.

The full list of nominees is:

Anna Calvi – ‘Anna Calvi’
Elbow – ‘Build A Rocket Boys!’
James Blake – ‘James Blake’
Katy B – ‘On A Mission’
Metronomy – ‘The English Riviera’
Tinie Tempah – ‘Disc-Overy’
PJ Harvey – ‘Let England Shake’
Gwilym Simcock – ‘Good Days At Schloss Elmau’
Everything Everything – ‘Man Alive’
Ghostpoet – ‘Peanut Butter Blues & Melancholy Jam’
King Creosote & Jon Hopkins – ‘Diamond Mine’
Adele – ’21’

Mercury Prize 2011 – Who Do You Want To Win?

Mercury Prize Nominations – All The Nominees, What We Said, And Their Odds

Mercury Prize Nominations – Our Reaction

Mercury Prize Nominations – Hear All The Albums