Placebo announce new album details

It's all change for the band's sixth collection

Placebo have announced details of their ‘optimistic’ new album, due for release this summer.

‘Battle For The Sun’, the band’s sixth, is released on June 8.

The follow-up to 2006’s ‘Meds’ was recorded in Toronto by Dave Bottrill (Tool) and mixed by Alan Moulder (My Bloody Valentine / Nine Inch Nails), and heralds a new era for the veteran rockers.

Steve Hewitt, drummer since 1996, has been replaced by 22-year-old Californian Steve Forrest. And following the expiration of their deal with Virgin Records, Placebo chose to self-fund and license the new record themselves, with an initial European release through PIAS.

Frontman Brian Molko said of their new situation: “We’ve made a record about choosing life, and choosing to live, about stepping out of the darkness and into the light. Not necessarily turning your back on the darkness because it’s there, it’s essential; it’s a part of who you are, but more about the choice of standing in the sunlight instead.”

He continued: “I’m very optimistic about the future. I’m in a positive frame of mind and a good headspace. It’s very exciting. There’s a lot of life in the old dog just yet.”