Placebo announce album tracklisting

Brian Molko describes his 'thematic unity'

Placebo have revealed the tracklisting of new album ‘Battle For The Sun’ to NME.COM.

As previously reported, the band are releasing their sixth album independently on June 8.

Now, frontman Brian Molko has explained the thinking behind the collection, as well as the tracklisting.

Molko said: “I believe ‘Battle’ to be the first of our albums to tell a story over the course of its 52 minutes. Our previous releases were really only collections of songs and even though the songs are ordered according to the musical flow, I hope that if you listen hard enough to the words that some kind of discernible thematic unity will begin to emerge.”

The tracklisting is:

‘Kitty Litter’
‘Ashtray Heart’
‘Battle For The Sun’
‘For What It’s Worth’
‘Devil In The Details’
‘Bright Lights’
‘Speak In Tongues’
‘The Never-Ending Why’
‘Happy You’re Gone’
‘Breathe Underwater’
‘Come Undone’
‘Kings Of Medicine’