Pond stream new album ‘Hobo Rocket’ exclusively on NME.COM – listen

Listen to the Australian band's follow-up to 'Beard, Wives, Denim' one week ahead of release on August 5

Pond are streaming their new album ‘Hobo Rocket’ on NME.COM, one week ahead of its official release on August 5. Listen to it here.

The album is the follow-up to the band’s fourth album ‘Beard, Wives, Denim’, which was released in March 2012. Two members of Pond, which is made up of Nick Allbrook, Jay Watson, Cam Avery, Joseph Ryan and Jamie Terry, have played with Tame Impala. Pond frontman Nick Allbrook previously played bass Tame Impala before leaving earlier this year. Pond drummer Jay Watson still plays keyboard with Tame Impala.

The tracklisting to ‘Hobo Rocket’ is as follows:


‘Whatever Happened To The Million Head Collide’
‘O Dharma’
‘Giant Tortoise’
‘Hobo Rocket’
‘Midnight Mass (At The Market Street Payphone)’

As well as ‘Hobo Rocket’, Pond members Nick Allbrook and Cam Avery have recorded a new album for their side project Allbrook/Avery alongside four-fifths of The Horrors.

Allbrook told NME that Josh Hayward from The Horrors owed him a favour “because he threw a bag of pedals at my face in Australia once, the wanker”. Rhys, Josh, Tom and Joe from the band all contributed to the album, as did Jerome Watson from The History Of Apple Pie, Holly Warren from Novella and Jason Holt from Spectrum over the course of a week. As yet there is no official release date for the album.