Pond announce new album co-produced by Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker and share new single ‘Daisy’

'Tasmania' is the psych experimentalists' eighth studio album

Pond have announced their forthcoming studio album ‘Tasmania’, which drops on March 1.

The record, co-produced with Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker, is dubbed the “sister” album to the Australian psych band’s 2017 release, ‘The Weather’.

A press statement describes the new record as a result of “an undercurrent of restless, anxious dread in a sheen of light, apathetic content — both real and parody — rather than wallowing in self-pity, encouraging us to celebrate the fruits of our planet, frolic in the ocean, kick up the dust, roll in the grass and enjoy the feeling of being in love — while we still can.”


‘Daisy’, the third single to be released from the album following ‘Burnt Out Star’ and ‘Sixteen Days’ in 2018, is out now. Watch the accompanying video below.

The music video was filmed on land owned by the Kulin and Nyoongar Nations, with the band paying respect to the Indigenous peoples in the opening card.

Here’s the tracklist for ‘Tasmania’:

1. Daisy
2 .Sixteen Days
3. Tasmania
4. The Boys Are Killing Me
5. Hand Mouth Dancer
6. Goodnight, P.C.C.
7. Burnt Out Star
8. Selené
9. Shame
10. Doctor’s In

Pond will play Primavera Sound this summer – which Tame Impala will headline – as well as the French festival We Love Green in June.


‘Tasmania’ is released on March 1 2019 via Marathon Artists.