Portishead announce new single

Album also set to feature a host of extras

Portishead are to release ‘Machine Gun’ as the first single from their long-awaited album ‘Third’.

The 12-inch vinyl is out on April 14, while a digital version is available from Portishead.co.uk from 8pm on April 10.

The release does not feature any B-sides.

Meanwhile a USB stick edition of ‘Third’, out April 28, features a host of extras, including the following four films:

Ade’s House – ‘Machine Gun’

‘The Rip’ live @ Mr Wolfe’s

‘We Carry On’

The Truly Spectacular Universal Conference Film

The band have also announced that they will issue a limited edition box set of ‘Third’, with details to be announced.

The album’s tracklisting will be:



‘Nylon Smile’

‘The Rip’


‘We Carry On’

‘Deep Water’

‘Machine Gun’


‘Magic Doors’