Prince to simultaneously release two new studio albums

'Art Official Age' and 'Plectrum Electrum' will both drop on September 29

Prince has revealed details of two upcoming albums.

The Purple One will release his 34th LP ‘Art Official Age’ on September 29 – the same day his new band 3rd Eye Girl drop their first album ‘Plectrum Electrum’.

‘Art Official Age’ will contain previously released tracks ‘Breakfast Can Wait’ and ‘Breakdown’ and its psychedelic artwork is available to view via the album’s official website.

The record’s release marks Prince’s return to Warner Bros Records. His acrimonious split with the label 18 years ago led to the ‘Purple Rain’ singer changing his name to a symbol in an attempt to sabotage his contract.

“Prince is one of just a handful of visionary artists who have truly reshaped and redefined modern music and culture,” said Warner Bros Records Chairman and CEO Cameron Strang in a statement. “For the past 35 years, he has never stopped evolving, challenging himself, reinventing his sound, and pushing boundaries. In true Prince fashion, he has just given us not one, but two extraordinary albums that express the incredible range and depth of his talent.”

Despite the reunion, in a May interview Prince spoke critically of major record labels: “Every time I talk to the heads of large companies, they’re always at the beach,” he said. “Middle of the afternoon, ‘‘What are you doing?’ ‘Oh, I’m at the beach with my kids.’ So we’re working to send their kids to college. And to the beach. We’re not supposed to accept that.”

3rd Eye Girl features musicians Donna Grantis (guitar), Hannah Ford Welton (drums) and Ida Nielsen (bass). Artwork for ‘Plectrum Electrum’ has also been released.

‘Art Official Age’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘U KNOW Prince’
‘affirmation I & II’
‘affirmation III’