Compilation of unreleased songs dug up by former label...

An album of unreleased Prince songs – recorded between 1985 and 1994 – is released on August 23 by former label Warner Brothers.

‘The Vault…Old Friends For Sale’ was recorded at various studios around the world and will be the last Prince release on Warner Brothers.

The tracklisting is:


‘The Rest Of My Life’ ‘It’s About That Walk’ ‘She Spoke 2 Me (extended remix)’ ‘5 Women’ ‘When The Lights Go Down’ ‘My Little Pill’ ‘There Is Lonely’ ‘Old Friends For Sale’ ‘Sarah’ ‘Extraordinary’

‘Old Friends 4 Sale’ is an outtake from the 1985 album ‘Parade’; ‘5 Women’ was written for Joe Cocker; ‘She Spoke 2 Me’ was on the Girl 6 soundtrack, though the version here is an ‘extended remix’.

Prince – now The Artist – has stated his intention to re-record his songs recorded while on Warners so that he can release them independently as he has done with ‘1999 – The New Master’.

The next proper album from The Artist – called ‘Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic’ – will be released in September. Other projects include a 7 CD set of samples from Prince/The Artist recordings which will be free from sample clearance restrictions so that other musicians can use them in their tracks.