Prophets Of Rage, Empire Of The Sun, Lauryn Hill, and The Gossip lead final names for Mad Cool 2019

Over 20 artists will be joining the party in Madrid this July

Prophets Of Rage, Lauryn Hill, and The Gossip are among the final names to be added to the Mad Cool 2019 line-up.

The festival will return to Madrid on July 11-13, bringing with it headline sets from Bon Iver, The National, Smashing Pumpkins, The Cure, and the newly-announced Prophets Of Rage – aka the rap-rock supergroup featuring members of Rage Against The Machine, Audioslave, Public Enemy, and Cypress Hill.

Other new confirmations include Marina (previously known as Marina & The Diamonds), Australian electro-pop duo Empire Of The Sun, Manchester icon Johnny Marr, and more. The full list of new additions is as follows:


Prophets Of Rage
Ms. Lauryn Hill
Empire Of The Sun
Cat Power
Johnny Marr
American Authors
Perry Farrell’s Kind Of Heaven Orchestra
Bear’s Den
Parquet Courts
Let’s Eat Grandma
Avalon Emerson
Demob Happy
Black Honey
Amber Mark
SG Lewis
Pierce Brothers
Haiku Hands
Molina Molina
Dr. Rubenstein

Two artists who were previously announced for Mad Cool 2019 have also been confirmed to have pulled out. The Grammy-winning H.E.R. has cancelled her European tour, including her festival appearance, while Teenage Fanclub have been forced to drop out due to logistical reasons.

Tickets for the 2019 festival are on sale now. Visit here for more information.

Last year, the festival confirmed it would be making major site improvements for 2019, including getting rid of the VIP areas in front of all of the stage and reducing the number of stages from seven to six.


The 2018 edition of Mad Cool won the NME Festival Award for Best Line-Up, having boasted the likes of Arctic Monkeys, Queens Of The Stone Age, Jack White, Nine Inch Nails, Dua Lipa, Depeche Mode, Pearl Jam, and more.