Jarvis Cocker writes new tune for Vic Reeves and Bob Mortimer's new show 'Randall & Hopkirk (deceased)'...

Pulp have recorded a brand new track to the soundtrack of forthcoming REEVES & MORTIMER series, ‘RANDALL & HOPKIRK (DECEASED)’, due to be screened on BBC1 in March.

Pulp recorded their track ‘My Body May Die’ especially for the programme with a choral group, The Swingle Sisters.

A spokesperson for the band could not confirm whether it would appear on a Pulp record in the future but said the band were currently in the studio working on their next album, which should be released late this year.


The series is based on the 1970’s cult classic and stars comedians Vic Reeves and Bob Mortimer in their first ‘straight acting’ roles. It’s been written and produced by Charlie Higson, co-creator of ‘The Fast Show’ and features guest appearances from Paul Whitehouse, Hugh Laurie, Peter Bowles and Steven Berkoff.

The album also features The Charlatans, Basement Jaxx, Beta Band, Witness, Gay Dad, Basement Jaxx and Talvin Singh and will be released on April 3 through Universal/Island.

The soundtrack album will be preceeded by a single, ‘The Theme From Randall & Hopkirk (deceased)’, on March 27 through Universal/Island, a collaboration between Nina Persson of The Cardigans and David Arnold, and is backed by Vic Reeves singing Dean Martin’s ‘Ain’t That A Kick In The Head’.

The full tracklisting is: ‘Theme From Randall & Hopkirk (deceased)‘ – Nina Persson & David Arnold; ‘Jus’ Tonite’Basement Jaxx; ‘Confusion’James; ‘My Beautiful Friend’The Charlatans‘; ‘My Body May Die’Pulp Vs The Swingle Sisters; ‘Eve’Space; ‘Hamlet Of Kings’The Orb; ‘To You Alone’Beta Band; ‘Carnival Of Drums’Talvin Singh; ‘US Roach’Gay Dad; ‘Zero Zero’Witness; ‘Dead Things’Emiliana Torrini and ‘Blue Eyes’Lewis Taylor.