Jarvis, Bjork pick tracks for new compilation

It's to celebrate the Rough Trade chain's 30th anniversary

Jarvis Cocker, Bjork and Bobby Gillespie are among the artists who have selected tracks to feature on a new compilation celebrating Rough Trade Shops 30th anniversary.

‘The Record Shop – 30 Years Of Rough Trade Shops’ is released on September 25, and contains 30 tracks chosen by the influential store’s famous customers.

Others who have selected tunes include fashion designer Paul Smith, comedian Stewart Lee and Sonic Youth frontman Thurston Moore.

The album comes on two discs and features sleevenotes from all the contributors, short biographies and some previously unseen photos from the shop’s archive.

The full tracklisting, including who choose which track, is as follows:


The Modern Lovers – ‘Pablo Picasso’ (Paul Smith)

Swell Maps – ‘Read About Seymour’ (Laurence Bell)

Kleenex – ‘Hedi’s Head’ (Mark Moore)

The Rezillos – ‘I Can’t Stand My Baby’ (Seymour Stein)

Adam And The Ants – ‘Zerox’ (Youth)

Holger Czukay – ‘Persian Love’ (Don Letts)

The Mekons – ‘Kill’ (Ana Da Silva)

The Soft Boys – ‘I Wanna Destroy You’ (Derek Pringle)

Boyd Rice – ‘Track 1, Side 1’ (Daniel Miller)

The Blue Orchids – ‘Work’ (Stewart Lee)

Afrika Bambaataa and the Soul Sonic Force – ‘Planet Rock’ (Geoff Travis)

Mighty Mighty – ‘Night After Night’ (Tarquin Gotch)

Bongwater – ‘His Old Look’ (Jon Savage)

Lard – ‘The Power Of Lard’ (Erol Alkan)

Pixies – ‘Here Comes Your Man’ (Luella Bartley)


Joe Strummer – ‘Island Hopping’ (Luce Mellor)

Skinned Teen – ‘Pillow Case Kisser’ (Thurston Moore)

Bikini Kill – ‘Capri Pants’ (Gary Walker)

Stock, Hausen and Walkman – ‘Belly Up’ (Jarvis Cocker)

Stereolab & Nurse With Wound – ‘Simple Headphone Mind’ (Michel Gaubert)

Lal Waterson & Oliver Knight – ‘At First She Starts’ (Peter Christopherson)

Karen Dalton – ‘In The Evening (It’s So Hard To Tell Who’s Going To Love You The Best)’ (Jeff Barrett)

Mulatu Astatke – ‘Yakermo Sew’ (David Adjaye)

Matmos – ‘Stupid Fambaloo’ (Bjork)

The Frogs – ‘Sailors Board Me Now’ (Savage Pencil)

Schneider TM vs Kpt. Michigan – ‘The Light 3000’ (James Murphy)

The Carter Family – ‘No Depression In Heaven’ (Bobby Gillespie)

James Luther Dickinson – ‘O How She Dances’ (Sean Rowley)

Bjork – ‘Where Is The Line’ (Richard Russell)

LCD Soundsystem – ‘Losing My Edge’ (Spazom)