Josh Homme: ‘Dave Grohl makes something good, great’

The Queens Of The Stone Age frontman has also spoken about working with Alex Turner and Trent Reznor

Queens Of The Stone Age frontman Josh Homme has spoken about working with Foo Fighters man Dave Grohl on his band’s forthcoming new album ‘…Like Clockwork’.

Speaking to Zane Lowe on BBC Radio 1, Homme said of Grohl, who drums on the album:

I have a special relationship with Dave. I’ve known him since I was 19. He makes something good, great. If something’s mediocre he makes it great.

The follow-up to ‘Era Vulgaris’ is released on June 3. Grohl features on the album – alongside other guests Alex Turner, Trent Reznor, Elton John and Jake Shears of Scissor Sisters.

Speaking about Alex Turner of Arctic Monkeys, Homme said: “He and I hop on motorcycles and stroll around.”

He then explained that the new album track ‘Kalopsia’ was inspired by Turner. “I called him one day a few years ago, when I was first starting to think about the possibility of getting to make a record and said ‘hey man, give me a good line.'”

Homme continued: “He hit me back and he was like “kalopsia”, and I said “kalopsia, what the hell’s that?” and he said “it’s a condition wherein everything seems more beautiful than it actually is.”

Homme also told Lowe that he wanted Nine Inch Nails frontman Trent Reznor to produce the record, but that he and the band went on to produce it themselves.

Of making the album he added: “Every once in a while this process is difficult… I’m not trying to get to a spot, this is documenting the journey of moving forward, you know. It was a tough time and I thought I can run away from this or I can run into it, you know… Not to get all Beatles on you, but [I] just ‘Let It Be’.”

The band premiered the studio version of the album’s first single ‘My God Is The Sun’ on BBC Radio 1 yesterday (April 8).

The track is available now as a free download for fans who pre-order ‘…Like Clockwork’. ‘My God Is The Sun’ is streaming now at

The band’s only confirmed live UK date this year is at Download Festival (June 14-16) at Donington Park.

The ‘…Like Clockwork’ tracklisting is:

‘Keep Your Eyes Peeled’
‘I Sat By The Ocean’
‘The Vampyre of Time and Memory’
‘If I Had A Tail’
‘My God Is The Sun’
‘Fairweather Friends’
‘Smooth Sailing’
‘I Appear Missing’
‘…Like Clockwork’