R.E.M’s Peter Buck and Joseph Arthur team up on joint album ‘Arthur Buck’ and share first track

The pair have worked together on Arthur's own projects in the past

R.E.M‘s Peter Buck and musician Joseph Arthur are teaming up on a joint album, titled ‘Arthur Buck’.

Arthur previously supported R.E.M in the early 2000s, while Buck has worked with the musician on his own projects in the past.

Now, they have co-written a record of songs that will be released on June 15 via New West Records. ‘Arthur Buck’ was produced by Arthur and mixed by Tchad Blake (U2, Arctic Monkeys, Pearl Jam). The collaboration began in Mexico at the end of last year, with the pair writing eight songs in three days, later performing them for locals near Buck’s home.


In a press release, Arthur said: “My first thought was, ‘Hey, I’ll get Peter to play acoustic guitar on some of the stuff I’m working!’ So I started showing him songs. But he was like, ‘That’s cool. Now check this out.’ And he started playing chords and whatnot. So I put my guitar down and began singing over his changes, and it was magical. It was easy. And these great songs just started popping out.”

Buck added: “It was all new songs, and it was spontaneous. And the great thing about working that way was that it didn’t have to be anything in particular. It was liberated from any expectation. It was free.”

The track listing for ‘Arthur Buck’ is as follows:

‘I Am The Moment’
‘Are You Electrified?’

‘The Wanderer’
‘Forever Waiting’
‘If You Wake Up In Time’
‘American Century’
‘Forever Falling’
‘Before Your Love Is Gone’
‘Wide Awake In November’
‘Can’t Make It Without You’



Last year, Buck joined Coldplay on stage to pay tribute to the late Tom Petty. He covered the musician’s 1989 classic ‘Free Fallin” with the band at a show in Portland.