R Kelly sets up ‘Black Panties hotline’ to promote new album

Callers can sign up to receive eight messages a month from US R&B star

R Kelly has set up a ‘Black Panties Hotline’ to promote his new album.

The US R&B star will release ‘Black Panties’ in December and yesterday (November 27) launched the hotline, which fans can call in order to get message from R Kelly. Calling the number 312-380-6596 gives callers the option to receive eight messages a month from R Kelly, although the content of the messages is not made clear.

Complex reports, however, that callers who don’t sign up for the messages, “receive an automated text after you hang up asking if you still want to subscribe”. The US publication claims that the message states “consent is not required”.


Earlier this month it was confirmed that deluxe editions of ‘Black Panties’ will include a pair of “R Kelly Black Panties”. The text on the album’s pre-order page at Blackpantiesdropping.com, where snippets of songs can be unlocked, says: “Kellz is dropping Black Panties. No reason you shouldn’t be, too.”

Tracks on the album include ‘Crazy Sex’, ‘Genius’ and ‘Throw This Money On You’ as well as R Kelly’s current single ‘My Story’. Ludacris, Kelly Rowland, 2 Chainz and Jeezy all appear on the album, with the deluxe edition featuring additional tracks including guest spots for Future, Juicy J and Migos.

‘Black Panties’ is the follow-up to Kelly’s ‘Write Me Back’, which came out in June 2012 and peaked at Number Five on America’s Billboard 200 albums chart.

The tracklisting is as follows:

‘Legs Shakin”
‘Throw This Money On You’
‘Marry The Pussy’
‘You Deserve Better’
‘All The Way’ (feat. Kelly Rowland)
‘My Story’ (feat. 2 Chainz)
‘Right Back’
‘Spend That’ (feat. Jeezy)
‘Crazy Sex’
‘Shut Up’

Deluxe Version bonus tracks:


‘Tear It Up’ (feat. Future)
‘Show Ya Pussy’ (feat. Migos and Juicy J)
‘Every Position’