Radiohead premiere new album

The band kick off their tour in Copenhagen

Radiohead played eight new songs as they kicked off their first tour since 2004 in Copenhagen tonight (May 6).

The band debuted new material from their eagerly awaited seventh album, as well as playing a host of classics at the KB Hall.

The new tracks primarily showcased a return to guitar-driven songs in the style of Radiohead‘s classic 1995 album ‘The Bends’, with many featuring the three-pronged attack of Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood and Ed O’Brien.

‘4 Minute Warning’ was the most instantly memorable new song, a classic pop tune featuring Yorke on piano and O’Brien on acoustic guitar.

On ‘Bangers ‘N’ Mash’ Yorke sang and played drums alongside Phil Selway. Another new song, ‘Spooks’, was completely instrumental.

The least typical of the new numbers Radiohead played tonight was ’15 Step’, which had dance beat reminiscent of the ‘Kid A’ track ‘Idioteque’ (which was also in the set).

Among the other surprises was an airing for the ‘OK Computer’ track and fan favourite ‘Let Down’, which appeared in the four-song encore.

Radiohead played tracks from each of their six albums bar 1993 debut ‘Pablo Honey’. Among the classics aired were ‘Karma Police’, ‘The Bends’ and ‘Paranoid Android’, which closed the first encore.

The set was:

‘Everything In Its Right Place’

‘Planet Telex’

‘Bangers ‘N’ Mash’

‘Open Pick’

‘Karma Police’

‘Black Star’


’15 Step’

‘Street Spirit (Fade Out)’

‘A Wolf At The Door’

‘The Bends’

‘4 Minute Warning’

‘Pyramid Song’

‘House Of Cards’



‘There There’



‘You And Whose Army’

‘Let Down’

‘Paranoid Android’

Second Encore:


The tour will hit the UK next week (May 12) with shows in Blackpool, Wolverhampton and London.

The full list of dates is:

Copenhagen KB Hall (May 7)

Amsterdam Heineken Hall (9-10)

Blackpool Empress Ballroom (12-13)

Wolverhampton Civic (15-16)

London Hammersmith Apollo (18-19)

V Festival (August 19-20)

Edinburgh Meadowbank Stadium (22)

Dublin Marlay Park (24)

NME wants to hear your verdict on the songs which will form the follow up to 2003’s ‘Hail To The Thief’.

Send us your track-by-track reviews, pictures, thoughts and setlists to and let us know what you think of the return of Radiohead.

For a full report on the Copenhagen show and all the new songs, get next week’s NME, dated May 13, on sale in all good newsagents from Wednesday (May 10).