The UK rock outfits get multiple nominations...

RADIOHEAD, COLDPLAY and JOHNNY CASH have all clocked up nominations for this year’s MTV MUSIC VIDEO AWARDS, which will take place on August 28 in NEW YORK.

Coldplay also announced that they will perform at the ceremony, which will be hosted by Chris Rock at Radio City Music Hall. Also appearing live will be Christina Aguilera.

Radiohead are competing in four categories with the ‘There There’ promo. The nightmarish fairytale video will be up against [/a] and [a] in the technical categories, including Best Special Effects, Art Direction, Cinematography and Editing.

‘The Scientist’ by Coldplay is nominated for the Best Group Video, Breakthrough Video and Art Direction gongs.

Floetry, the south London R&B duo, who were also this week nominated for the Mercury Music Prize alongside Radiohead, and Coldplay, are up for two MTV prizes, including Best Breakthrough Video.

Missy Elliott‘s ‘Work It’ video received the most nominations with eight, with Justin Timberlake’s ‘Cry Me A River’ coming in behind with seven.

The much-discussed video for [/a]’s ‘Hurt’ attracted six nominations. He said, “It’s been 48 years since I cut my first record and it’s nice that people are still digging them up.”

[a]’s ‘Hurt’, Missy Elliott‘s ‘Work It’,’ Timberlake’s ‘Cry Me A River’, Eminem‘s ‘Lose Yourself’, and 50 Cent’s ‘In Da Club’ will all battle it out for the Best Video Of The Year award.

The event will be screened by MTV UK & Ireland on August 30 and is expected to attract a television audience of around 1 billion.