This year's shortlist is announced - but who do YOU think should have been nominated?...

RADIOHEAD and COLDPLAY have been installed as joint favourites for this year’s prestigious MERCURY MUSIC PRIZE after the shortlist was announced today (July 22).

Among those also nominated were debut albums from Irish popsters [/a], rising rockers The Darkness, London indie outfit [a] and new hip-hop star Dizzee Rascal.

The nominees were announced by Jools Holland at The Commonwealth Club in central London.

The full list of nominees – and current odds – are as follows:

4/1: Coldplay ‘A Rush Of Blood To The Head’/Radiohead ‘Hail To The Thief’

6/1: The Darkness ‘Permission To Land’/Dizzee Rascal ‘Boy In Da Corner/The Thrills ‘So Much For The City’

8/1: Athlete ‘Vehicles & Animals’/Terri Walker ‘Untitled’

10/1: Floetry ‘Floetic’/Soweto Kinch ‘Conversations With The Unseen’

12/1: Martina Topley-Bird ‘Quixotic’/Eliza Carthy ‘Anglicana’/Lemon Jelly ‘Lost Horizons’

A panel of judges drawn from the music industry will initially choose their 12 albums of the year, before announcing the overall winner on 9 September.

The full list of previous winners is as follows:

1992 – Primal Scream ‘Screamadelica’

1993 – Suede: ‘Suede’

1994 – M People: ‘Elegant Slumming’

1995 – Portishead: ‘Dummy’

1996 – Pulp: ‘Different Class’

1997 – Roni Size: ‘New Forms’

1998 – Gomez: ‘Bring It On’

1999 – Talvin Singh: ‘OK’

2000 – Badly Drawn Boy: ‘The Hour Of Bewilderbeast’

2001 – PJ Harvey: ‘Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea’

2002 – Ms Dynamite: ‘A Little Deeper’

Who do you think should have been nominated? Anyone left out you think should have defintely been in there? Email and let as know.

Also, you can vote for who you think should win by [url=]clicking here. The results will be used in a future issue of NME.