Radiohead hit with technical difficulties during Coachella headline set

The band were initially unaware of the problem.

Coachella kicked off yesterday (April 14) with a headline set from Radiohead. Unfortunately, the band were met with technical difficulties only a few songs into their performance.

Three songs in, the band were faced with abbrasive feedback and a complete sound dropout. They initially didn’t realise the problem, before a stagehand told frontman Thom Yorke and the the band left the stage.

The technical difficulties also affected the live stream audio. When Yorke became aware of the problems, he told the crowd; “Fuckin’ aliens again.”


Songs that were affected included ’15 Step’ and ‘Ful Stop’, with the sound dropout affecting almost the entire performance of the ‘A Moon Shaped Pool’ track.

After the band returned to the stage, they were met with further technical difficulties towards the end of ‘Let Down’, which caused them to leave the stage once again.

Read more: Coachella live stream: how to watch this year’s festival and who you can’t afford to miss

When the band returned a second time, Yorke joked, “Can you actually hear me now?” I’d love to tell you a joke, lighten the mood, something like that. But this is Radiohead, so fuck it,” before launching into a performance of ‘Street Spirit (Fade Out)’.

You can see Radiohead’s full Coachella setlist below, via Brooklyn Vegan.


1 Daydreaming
2 Desert Island Disk
3 Ful Stop
4 Airbag
5 15 Step
[Brief Intermission]
6 The National Anthem
7 Let Down
[Brief Intermission 2]
8 Street Spirit (Fade Out)
9 Bloom
10 Identikit
11 Everything in its Right Place
12 There There
13 Weird Fishes/Arpeggi
14 Burn The Witch
15 Idioteque
16 Nude
17 Creep
18 You and Whose Army?
19 No Surprises
20 Paranoid Android
21 Bodysnatchers
22 Karma Police

You can watch Radiohead’s entire Coachella set below, from around the 1:49:00 mark.

Last night marked Radiohead’s third performance at Coachella – they also played in 2004 and 2012. Yorke played the festival with his Atoms of Peace project in 2012.

You May Like