Radiohead come 12th in Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame fan vote

Bon Jovi came out on top in the fan ballot

Radiohead have finished 12th in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame fan ballot, with Bon Jovi topping the vote.

The initial nominees for the 2018 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame were unveiled in October, with the final shortlist of five inductees set to be announced on December 13 ahead of next April’s ceremony.

The results of the fan vote are to be considered alongside votes cast by experts. The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame organisers explain:

“Each year, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame foundation’s nominating committee selects the group of artists nominated in the performer category. Ballots are then sent to more than 900 historians, members of the music industry and artists—including every living Rock Hall inductee—and the five performers receiving the most votes become that year’s induction class. Beginning in 2012, fans were given the chance to vote for the nominees they’d like to see inducted into the Rock Hall. The top five vote-getters in the public poll form one ballot, which is weighted the same as the rest of the submitted ballots.”


However, as Blabbermouth notes, the winner of the fan vote have always been among that year’s eventual inductees.

The fan ballot this year sees Bon Jovi coming out on top, followed by the Moody Blues, Dire Straits, The Cars and Judas Priest.

Radiohead come 12th, while Depeche Mode finish 9th and Kate Bush 11th. Rage Against The Machine come just below Radiohead at 13th.

The full results of the fan vote are below:

  1. Bon Jovi
  2. Moody Blues
  3. Dire Straits
  4. The Cars
  5. Judas Priest
  6. The Zombies
  7. Eurythmics
  8. J Geils Band
  9. Depeche Mode
  10. Nina Simone
  11. Kate Bush
  12. Radiohead
  13. Rage Against The Machine
  14. MC5
  15. LL Cool J
  16. Sister Rosetta Tharpe
  17. Link Wray
  18. Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
  19. The Meters

Following their nomination, Radiohead have distanced themselves from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and announced that they won’t be attending the ceremony.