Prophets Of Rage announce details of their debut EP

The band features members of Rage Against The Machine, Public Enemy and Cypress Hill

Prophets Of Rage have announced details of their debut EP.

The band, which is comprised of members of Rage Against The Machine, Public Enemy and Cypress Hill, will release the record on August 25.

Titled ‘The Party’s Over’, it will include the group’s first single, ‘Prophets Of Rage’, which is a reinterpretation of Public Enemy’s song as Pitchfork notes.

That and the title track were both recorded in the studio, while the EP’s remaining three tracks, including a version of RATM’s ‘Killing In The Name’, are taken from live performances.

The track listing for ‘The Party’s Over’ is as follows:

‘Prophets of Rage’
‘The Party’s Over’
‘Killing in the Name’ (live)
‘Shut Em Down’ (live)
‘No Sleep Til Cleveland’ (live)

Recently, the band were denied access to perform inside a state prison in Norco, California, where they were scheduled to perform for 800 inmates.

CBS Los Angeles reports that the band were denied access to the prison, “because of orders issued by the California Department of Corrections just before showtime.”

Tom Morello explained: “We were denied at the last minute because apparently they got some calls from right-wing nuts in Sacramento who said they were going to foment rebellion. What we meant to do is come here to play a great show.”

He added: “We play for those on the lowest rungs of the ladder. We play for the underclass, those who do not have a presidential candidate who presents them.”