Tom Morello says Prophets of Rage will record new music

The Rage Against The Machine guitarist says the "elite task of radical musicians" will head into the studio soon

Tom Morello has revealed that his new supergroup, Prophets of Rage, are set to record new music.

The newly-assembled band, which contains three of the four members of Rage Against The Machine and is fronted by Public Enemy‘s Chuck D and Cypress Hill’s B Real, made their live debut in LA last week (31 May) and are gearing up for a 35-date US tour that begins in Vancouver in August.

The guitarist has now disclosed that the supergroup intend to head into the studio prior to the commencement of that tour. Speaking to The Wall Street Journal, Morello said that the new songs will help bulk up the setlist. “It definitely won’t be a full-length album, but we’ve got some [songs],” he said. “While the tour will be exploring, deeply, the catalogues of Rage, Public Enemy and Cypress Hill, we’ve got a new song or two that we want to record before we go out on the road.”


Morello also talked about RATM frontman Zack de la Rocha’s notable absence from the group, confirming that the vocalist is currently working on solo material. “We have nothing but the greatest love and honor and respect for Zack de la Rocha, the brilliant lyricist of Rage Against the Machine, who is working on his own music, which I’m sure will be fantastic – he’s a great artist in his own right.”

Watch a video of Prophets of Rage expounding on the “sonic fireball” that is their new project below.