Red Hot Chili Peppers to release 18 new songs over the next six months

Flea announces that the band will be launching a new singles series

Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea has revealed that the band will be releasing 18 new songs over the next six months.

The bassist confirmed that the band have been busy writing while they’ve been touring their tenth studio album ‘I’m With You’ and will be putting out new material as 7” vinyl singles and digital download.

Taking to his Twitter account, Flea wrote: “We have been writing stuff while touring. We are also going to put out 18 new songs over the next 6 months on 7 inch and digitally.”

The band’s drummer Chad Smith had previously said that the funk punks had at least “10 more songs” ready to release from their sessions for ‘I’m With You’, which it seems will form part of the 18 tracks they will now put out.

Red Hot Chili Peppers will return to the UK and Ireland this summer to play three huge outdoor shows. The band will play Knebworth Park near Stevenage on June 23, Sunderland‘s Stadium Of Light on June 24 and Dublin‘s Croke Park on June 26.

You can watch a video interview where the band discuss working with Blur‘s Damon Albarn by scrolling down to the bottom of the page and clicking.