Red Hot Chili Peppers announce album ‘The Getaway’ – stream new single ‘Dark Necessities’

It's their first record since 2011's 'I'm With You'

Red Hot Chili Peppers have announced details of their new album ‘The Getaway’ and shared its first single ‘Dark Necessities’.

‘The Getaway’, their first record since 2011’s ‘I’m With You’, will be released on June 17. It was produced by Danger Mouse and mixed by Radiohead‘s Nigel Godrich.

First, the band have released new single ‘Dark Necessities’. Hear that below.

‘The Getaway’ tracklist:

‘The Getaway’
‘Dark Necessities’
‘We Turn Red’
‘The Longest Wave’
‘Goodbye Angels’
‘Sick Love’
‘Go Robot’
‘Feasting on the Flowers’
‘This Ticonderoga’
‘The Hunter’
‘Dreams of a Samurai’

‘The Getaway’ artwork:

Bassist Flea previously said that the band were “heading into a new era” as they finished work on the LP.

“We’re near the end of it,” Flea told Q. “Danger Mouse is producing this time, instead of Rick Rubin. Were heading into a new era and we’re really excited.”

Asked how the album was sounding, he added: “It’s new and different but without sacrificing the good bits of us. There are some songs we already had, and some new ones too. I can’t wait to play it live.”

Meanwhile, the band have a series of tour dates and festival appearances booked for the summer. Among those dates is a headline slot at Reading and Leeds Festival 2016.

They will also headline T In The Park and have been confirmed as headliners for this year’s Lollapalooza.