Former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitatist John Frusciante reveals solo album details

Guitarist will release 'Enclosure' this April

Former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante has revealed his plans to release a new solo album this year.

Frusciante will release the LP, titled ‘Enclosure’, in April of this year and has also made the album track ‘Scratch’ available as a free download from his official website.

Speaking about the record, which is the follow-up to his 2012 effort ‘PBX Funicular Intaglio Zone’ and is his 11th studio album, Frusciante said: “‘Enclosure’, upon its completion, was the record which represented the achievement of all the musical goals I had been aiming at for the previous five years.

“It was recorded simultaneously with Black Knights’ ‘Medieval Chamber’ [hi-hop album produced by Frusciante], and as different as the two albums appear to be, they represent one investigative creative thought process. What I learned from one fed directly into the other. ‘Enclosure’ is presently my last word on the musical statement which began with PBX.”

The album will be released one month after Frusciante and At The Drive-In/The Mars Volta‘s Omar Rodríguez-López unveil the first EP from their Kimono Kult project. The band also features Teri Gender Bender of Le Butcherettes, who says of the EP: “Kimono Kult approaches the music in a completely original way, allowing for the imagination to flow. The lyric to ‘Todo Menos el Dolor’ is for the listener’s imagination. Spanish speaking or not, it goes way beyond language and [is] more about atmosphere. To me it could be a story about an alien that wanted to eat cats but it caused the critter so much pain [that] he became a vegetarian. Every interpretation is valid.”

The tracklisting of ‘Enclosure’ is as follows:

1. ‘Shining Desert’
2. ‘Sleep’
3. ‘Run’
4. ‘Stage’
5. ‘Fanfare’
6. ‘Cinch’
7. ‘Zone’
8. ‘Crowded’
9. ‘Excuses’
10. ‘Scratch’