’The Future Soundtrack For America’ is out on Independence Day...

Bright Eyes[/a] and [a][/a] are among the artists who have donated tracks to a new compilation album aimed at promoting political change in America.

’The Future Soundtrack For America’ is released on Independence Day, July 4. The LP was originally put together and released in the US last year to fight President Bush’s re-election. Now the aim is more general – the liner notes state the organisers want “to make our increasingly messed-up country (the United States) a better place”.

The full tracklisting is-

OK Go – ‘This Will Be Our Year’ [unreleased Zombies cover]

David Byrne – ‘Ain’t Got So Far To Go’ [previously unreleased song]

Jimmy Eat World – ‘Game of Pricks’ (BBC evening session) [unreleased Guided by Voices cover]

Death Cab For Cutie – ‘This Temporary Life’ [previously unreleased song]

Blink-182 – ‘I Miss You’ (James Guthrie mix) [available only as b-side of UK 7″>

Mike Doughty – ‘Move On’ [previously unreleased song]

Ben Kweller – ‘Jerry Falwell Destroyed Earth’ [previously unreleased song]

Sleater-Kinney – ‘Off With Your Head’ [available as bonus track in ltd edition One Beat]

REM. – ‘Final Straw’ (MoveOn mix) [previously unreleased song]

Bright Eyes – ‘Going For The Gold’ (live) [previously unreleased recording]

The Long Winters – ‘The Commander Thinks Aloud’ (future mix) [prev. unreleased song] of The Black Eyed Peas – ‘Money’ [prev. avail. only on UK soundtrack release]

They Might Be Giants – ‘Tippecanoe And Tyler Too’ [unreleased 1840 campaign song]

Clem Snide – ‘The Ballad Of David Icke’ [previously unreleased song]

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – ‘Date With The Night’ (live) [previously unreleased recording]

Fountains of Wayne – ‘Everything’s Ruined’ (acoustic) [previously unreleased recording]

Nada Surf – ‘Your Legs Grow’ [previously unreleased song]

The Flaming Lips – ‘Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots’ (live on the BBC) [prev unreleased]

Old 97’s – ‘Northern Line’ [Opal cover; prev. available only as b-side of promo-only EP]

Laura Cantrell – ‘Sam Stone’ [unreleased John Prine cover]

Tom Waits – ‘Day After Tomorrow’

Elliott Smith – ‘A Distorted Reality Is Now A Necessity To Be Free’