REM and Wilco team up on new album

The old pals get together

Members of R.E.M and Wilco are to star on the next album by the The Minus 5 collective.

‘The Gun Album’ is out on February 7, and features core members Scott McCaughey, guitarist John Ramberg and R.E.M stars Peter Buck and drummer Bill Rieflin surrounded by such guests as John Wesley Harding, Kelly Hogan and The DecemberistsColin Meloy and John Moen.

Also featured on two tracks are the members of Wilco, who previously teamed with The Minus 5 for the 2003 album ‘Down With Wilco’.

Having recently got together for a five-show tour of Spain, The Minus 5 will play a handful of spring North American gigs with Yep Roc labelmate Robyn Hitchcock , reports Billboard.

The group will also perform in March at the South by Southwest festival in Austin, Texas, and embark on a longer North American tour that will kicks off on March 17.