Madonna, R.E.M and Travis are among the artists on new benefit album 'Mantra Mix'...

Madonna, R.E.M, Massive Attack and TRAVIS are among the artists who have contributed tracks to a benefit album for Tibetan refugees.

The album ‘Mantra Mix’ will be released on October 24 through the Narada World label in the US. Proceeds from the record will go towards the Foundation For The Preservation Of The Mahayana Tradition (FPMT) – an organisation committed to helping Tibetan refugees throughout the world.

At present there are no details of a full-scale European release.


Also on the album – which, according to a statement released yesterday, contains tracks appropriate “for inclusion on an album to honour the Dalai Lama” – are Fatboy Slim, The Chemical Brothers, Suede, plus a prayer from the Dalai Lama himself on a bonus CD.

The tracklisting is as follows: Fatboy Slim – ‘Right Here, Right Now’ Suede – ‘Everything Will Flow’ The Chemical Brothers – ‘One Too Many Mornings’ Madonna – ‘Shanti/Ashtangi’ Travis – ‘The Connection’ Sinead O’Connor – ‘This Is Mother To You’ The Propellerheads – ‘History Repeating’ REM – ‘Lotus (Weird Mix)’ David Byrne – ‘Ain’t Got So Far To Go’ Massive Attack – ‘Angel’ Leftfield – ‘Rino’s Prayer Kula Shaker – ‘Tattva (Lucky 13 Mix)’ Natalie Merchant – ‘Seven Years’ Moby – ‘Everloving’ Peter Gabriel – ‘Games Without Frontiers (Massive/DB Mix)’ Ben Harper – ‘One Road To Freedom’

You May Like