REM name new album

The record will be out in April

R.E.M have named their new album ‘Accelerate’.

The band’s 14th studio LP, the follow-up to 2004’s ‘Around The Sun’, will be released in April.

The band worked on the album in Vancouver and Dublin with Bloc Party and Snow Patrol producer Jacknife Lee.

During their stay in Dublin last summer, the band played five sold-out ‘working rehearsal’ dates at the Olympia Theatre, previewing tracks from the record.

Confirmed tracks for the album include ‘Until The Day Is Done’, ‘Living Well Is The Best Revenge’, ‘Mr Richards’, ‘Staring Down The Barrel Of Middle Distance’, and ‘I’m Gonna DJ’, a regular in the band’s set on their 2004/2005 world tour.

Frontman Michael Stipe said the guitar-driven LP is “the fastest we’ve made in 20 years”.

He told Q: “I think the songs on ‘Around The Sun’ are great, but in the process of recording we lost our focus as a band. Now, that focus is back. And it’s razor sharp.”