Richard Ashcroft releases new song ‘Hey Colombo’ in response to ‘Soccer AM’ ‘drugs’ confusion

"Ever get stitched up, matched up, crucified?"

Richard Ashcroft has dropped a surprise new song ‘Hey Colombo’ – which is seemingly a response to recent accusations that he took drugs onto Soccer AM.

The former Verve turned solo star was a special guest on the Saturday morning football talk show last month, when viewers noticed that some kind of white debris fell from his trousers as he sat down, moments before he swooped down to pick it up. A number of viewers soon shared footage on Twitter, suggesting that it was a small bag of drugs.

Denying the claims, Ashcroft told fans: “Just a quick message to a couple of you trolls on Twitter who are making a name for yourselves out of me – and also people moralising and virtue signalling,” said Ashcroft. “Number one: Cocaine and I have had no relationship for decades. Number two: Don’t you ever surmise what has fallen out of my pocket. And, don’t bring my children into it.”

He added: “You’re on thin ice. Don’t libel my name. My dad didn’t like litter and I don’t really like litter. But it gets a bit preposterous in my pocket.  In The Verve I was known as Colombo, so get your facts right. You’re on thin ice. Peace.”

The Coral later shared a parody of his message.

Now, Ashcroft has dropped a new acoustic track, which appears to be reference to the incident and subsequent furore.

Ever get stitched up, matched up, crucified before you open your eyes?” he sings, later adding “did you ever have your baby patted down? Strip searched? Are you the fucking clown?”

Ashcroft’s new solo album ‘Natural Rebel’ is set for release on October 19.

Meanwhile, today saw Ashcroft add a run of dates in Spring 2019 to his upcoming tour. His full tour dates are below and tickets are available here.

Friday October 26 2018 – GLASGOW Barrowland
Sunday October 28 2018 – MIDDLESBROUGH Middlesbrough Town Hall
Monday October 29 2018 – NOTTINGHAM Rock City
Wednesday October 31 2018 – MANCHESTER Albert Hall
Friday November 2 2018 – LONDON O2 Forum Kentish Town
Friday April 19 2019 – PORTSMOUTH Guildhall
Saturday April 20 2019 – CARDIFF Motorpoint Arena
Monday April 22 2019 – NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE O2 Academy Newcastle
Tuesday April 23 2019 – EDINBURGH Usher Hall
Thursday April 25 2019 – HULL Bonus Arena
Saturday April 27 2019 – BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy Birmingham
Wednesday May 1 2019 – DONCASTER Doncaster Dome
Thursday May 2 2019 – LEICESTER De Montfort Hall
Friday May 3 2019 – LEICESTER De Montfort Hall
Saturday May 4 2019 – LONDON Olympia