Ringo Starr says he originally wrote new album ‘Postcards From Paradise’ on drums alone – watch

The former Beatle discusses writing and recording in this exclusive video interview

Ringo Starr has discussed his new album ‘Postcards From Paradise’ in a new interview.

The former Beatle releases the record this week (March 31). The album will be Starr’s 18th studio release and will be made up of 11 original tracks, including a song written by Starr and his current All Starr Band – Steve Lukather, Todd Rundgren, Gregg Rolie, Richard Page, Warren Ham and Gregg Bissonette.

‘Postcards From Paradise’ was produced by Starr and recorded at his home studio in Los Angeles. Guest artists include Joe Walsh, Benmont Tench, Dave Stewart, Ann Marie Simpson, Richard Marx, Amy Keys, Peter Frampton, Nathan East and Glen Ballard.


In a new video interview, exclusive to NME, Starr discusses writing and recording the album, revealing that he originally wrote all the album’s tracks only by playing the drums before inviting other musicians to record their various parts.

Starr says: “It’s just the way I do it. I start off on my own. I play drums and nobody’s there, we have no song and I’m saying ‘Oh, there’s a verse… and chorus… and the end’. So far it’s worked.”

Watch the clip below.

Later this year Starr will be inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall of Fame by Sir Paul McCartney. The event will take place in Cleveland, Ohio, where he will receive the Award for Musical Excellence.

In an interview with NME last September, Starr asserted his belief that the rock genre will never disappear, and that bands will always “come through in the end”.


“The saving grace for me – I have to admit I’m not a big fan of the boybands dancing and that stuff – but the thing that saves me is there’s always bands out there,” he said. “There’s always bands playing somewhere, and they come through in the end.”

The ‘Postcards From Paradise’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘Rory And The Hurricanes’
‘You Bring The Party Down’
‘Postcards From Paradise’
‘Right Side Of The Road’
‘Not Looking Back’
‘Island In The Sun’
‘Touch And Go’
‘Let Love Lead’