Rufus Wainwright to release new album ‘Out Of The Game’ this April

Singer says it's 'the most pop album I've ever made'

Rufus Wainwright has announced that he will release his new album ‘Out Of The Game’ on April 23.

The LP, which is the follow up to 2010’s ‘All Days Are Nights: Songs For Lulu’, will be his seventh studio album, and has been produced by Mark Ronson.

According to Music Week, the singer described the album as “the most pop album I’ve ever made” and claimed it had been influenced by “all the greats – Elton [John], Freddie Mercury, David Bowie… basically the brash and beautiful. It’s also very Rufus.” Ronson, meanwhile, said of the LP: “It’s the best work of my career.”

Previously, Wainwright had claimed that the record would be “very manly” and said that he’d “certainly made enough gay records”.

He also said that there are two sides to the album, the “first being a sense of relief and lightness and joy about cherishing life because y’know, certainly the last three years were the darkest I’d ever experienced, considering my mother’s death. But by the same token they were also the most joyous, because my daughter Viva is going to be one this year, so that’s sort of intermingled with it.”

The album is set to feature cameos from Martha Wainwright, Yeah Yeah Yeahs guitarist Nick Zinner, Sean Lennon, Wilco‘s Nels Cline and Miike Snow‘s Andrew Wyatt. Wainwright will play the London Lyceum on April 30, 2012 as part of a short, six-date European tour.

The tracklisting of ‘Out Of The Game’ is as follows:

‘Out Of The Game’
‘Welcome To The Ball’
‘Bitter Tears’
‘Respectable Drive’
‘Perfect Man’
‘Sometimes You Need’
‘Song Of You’