Rufus Wainwright reveals new album details

'Release the Stars' comes out in May

Rufus Wainwright has released details of his forthcoming album, ‘Release the Stars’.

The troubadour produced his fifth studio album himself, with Pet Shop BoysNeil Tennant handling executive production duties.

The follow up to ‘Want Two’ is scheduled to come out in May via Geffen Records.

Wainwright, a big fan of Judy Garland, has also announced that he will recreate the actress’ 1961 Carnegie Hall performance at shows in London and Paris later this month, and at the Hollywood Bowl on September 23. Wainwright is also scheduled to perform at California’s Coachella Festival on April 27.

‘Release the Stars’ tracklisting:

‘Do I Disappoint You’

‘Going to a Town’


‘Nobody’s Off the Hook’

‘Between My Legs’

‘Rules and Regulations’

‘I’m Not Ready to Love’



‘Leaving for Paris’


‘Release the Stars’

The tour dates are:

London Palladium (February 18)

Paris L’Olympia (20)

London Palladium (25)

Indio Coachella Festival (April 27)

Hollywood Bowl (September 23)

–By our Los Angeles staff.

Find out more about NME.