Rustie announces release of new album ‘Green Language’

Danny Brown, D Double E and Redinho feature on the Scottish musician's second LP

Rustie has announced the release of a new album, entitled ‘Green Language’.

The LP will follow the Scottish musician’s debut ‘Glass Swords’, which was released in 2011. Danny Brown, D Double E and Redinho are amongst the artists to feature on the release, which comes out on August 25 via Warp. Scroll down for a full tracklisting and to listen to ‘Raptor’, the first song to be released from the record. The album’s artwork by Dominic Flannigan with photography by Simen Johan, is pictured above.

A press release for the album states that it “was written and recorded at 4am to the sound of birdsong in a remote location in his native Scotland, influenced by nature, birds and sunrise”. Speaking about the album title, Rustie – real name Russell Whyte – has commented: “It’s a language that’s non-dualistic, that speaks to you directly to your emotions without the mind interfering with the message, and music is like that for me.”


Rustie will play London’s Oval Space on September 18.

The ‘Green Language’ tracklisting is:

‘A Glimpse’
‘Paradise Stone’
‘Up Down’ ft. D Double E
‘Attak’ ft. Danny Brown
‘He Hate Me’ ft. Gorgeous Children
‘Lost’ ft. Redinho
‘Dream On’
‘Lets Spiral’
‘Green Language’

To check the availability of Rustie tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0844 858 6765