REM, Ryan Adams join forces!

The acts feature on a long-delayed album

REM and Ryan Adams are among the bands to feature on a tribute album dedicated to cult Seventies rockers Big Star.

A group of acts all cover tracks by the acclaimed group on ‘Big Star Small World’. The long-mooted record will finally be released on May 23.

Ryan Adams’ former band Whiskeytown also feature, while Big Star themselves contribute their own ‘Hot Thing’.


R.E.M’s Mike Mills helps out Matthew Sweet on ‘The Ballad Of El Goodo’.

The album was originally supposed to appear in 1998, but was shelved.

The full tracklisting is:

Afghan Whigs – ‘Nighttime’

Matthew Sweet ft Mike Mills – ‘The Ballad of El Goodo’

Gin Blossoms – ‘Back Of A Car’


Teenage Fanclub – ‘Jesus Christ’

Big Star – ‘Hot Thing’

Wilco – ‘Thirteen’

The Posies – ‘What’s Going Ahn’

Juliana Hatfield – ‘Don’t Lie to Me’

Whiskeytown – ‘Give Me Another Chance’

Kelly Willis – ‘When My Baby’s Beside Me’

Idle Wilds – ‘You Get What You Deserve’