Sam Smith to re-release debut album ‘In The Lonely Hour’

The re-release will contain a new track, 'Drowning Shadows'

Sam Smith has announced that he will re-release his chart-topping debut album ‘In the Lonely Hour’ in a double-disc format.

He called ‘In The Lonely Hour: The Drowning Shadows Edition’ his “final bow” prior to moving onto his second album.

Smith also described it as a “present directly from me to my fans”, saying that he’d “listened to all your wants and wishes and put some tracks on this album that you all wanted originally.”

The album’s second disc will contain covers of Amy Winehouse and Whitney Houston, collaborations with Mary J. Blige, A$AP Rocky, John Legend and Disclosure, and a brand new song called ‘Drowning Shadows’, which is described as a ‘stripped back, heart-wrenching ballad’ in its press release.

Smith made the announcement via a series of tweets. See them below:

The announcement came today, (October 2), just hours before his new single ‘Writing’s On The Wall’ became the first Bond theme ever to top the UK singles chart.

Despite artists including Madonna, Adele, Duran Duran and Shirley Bassey having recorded theme tunes for the film franchise in the past, only Smith has been able to reach the top spot.

Smith told “It was such an honour to be asked to write and record ‘Writing’s On The Wall’ and it’s incredible that it’s become the first Number One Bond theme song.”

Meanwhile, Smith’s frequent collaborators Disclosure hit Number One on the album chart with their second album, ‘Caracal’, which features Sam Smith on two songs.