Scissor Sisters dedicate ‘I Don’t Feel Like Dancin” to Elton John at iTunes Festival

Band also give a flirty shout-out to The Drums

Scissor Sisters dedicated ‘I Don’t Feel Like Dancin” to their hero Elton John at the opening night of the iTunes Festival in London last night (July 1).

The disco-pop act played a mammoth set at the Roundhouse in London as the star watched from the balcony.

Before the band launched into the track, which was co-written with John, frontman Jake Shears announced: “We want to dedicate a real sweet song for a dear friend of ours who is here tonight. This is for you Elton, we love you.”

The band also later gave a shout-out to The Drums, who supported them earlier in the night. “I love those boys from The Drums, they are so fantastic,” singer Ana Matronic told the crowd, before joking: “They are our homeboys from Brooklyn and I’ve tasted each and every one of them.”

The band played a host of new tracks from their recently released third album ‘Night Work’, including the title track, new single ‘Fire With Fire’ and ‘Whole New Way’.

Introducing the last track, Matronic said: “So we released our new album this week, ‘Night Work’,” before she spotted a fan in the crowd waving a hard hat. “Oooh, there is someone with a hard hat out there, looks like he’s ready for some night work,” she joked. “Come backstage and we will work you.”

They ended their show with crowd favourite ‘Filthy/Gorgeous’, which saw the audience showered in a blanket of white ticker tape.

Scissor Sisters played:

‘Night Work’
‘Any Which Way’
‘She’s My Man’
‘Something Like This’
‘Whole New Way’
‘Tits On The Radio’
‘Harder You Get’
‘Running Out’
‘Take Your Mama’
‘Kiss You Off’
‘I Don’t Feel Like Dancin”
‘Skin Tight’
‘Skin This Cat’
‘Fire With Fire’
‘Night Life’
‘Comfortably Numb’
‘Invisible Light’

Earlier, The Drums were joined onstage by Matronic for ‘Summertime!’ EP track ‘Don’t Be A Jerk, Johnny’. Their short set, which came a day after their Kings Of Leon support slot at Hyde Park, also saw the band perform tracks from their self-titled debut, including ‘Forever And Ever, Amen’ and ‘Let’s Go Surfing’.