Plus details of Bond track and Catherine Deneuve movie soundtrack...

Scott Walker will curate next year’s Meltdown Festival.

Walker, who has not made a live appearance since the release of his last album ‘Tilt’ in 1995, will select the line-up for the event, running at the Royal Festival Hall on London’s Southbank between June 16-July 2, 2000.

He follows last year’s musical director Nick Cave, who selected performers as diverse as Jarvis Cocker, John Cale, Nina Simone and Lee Hazlewood.


A spokesperson for Meltdown said Walker was unlikely to perform or take to the stage, but would be “very actively involved” in other aspects of the festival and attend each performance.

Walker was interviewed on XFM at the time of ‘Tilt’ and played tracks by new artists that he admired including PJ Harvey. Another likely contender for the Meltdown bill is Serbian composer Goran Bregovic (Walker recorded a track called ‘Man From Reno’ on Goran Bregovic‘s last album ‘Ederlezi’ in 1998).

It has also emerged that Walker has recorded an exclusive track for the new James Bond film, The World Is Not Enough. The track, ‘Only Myself To Blame’, was specially written by David Arnold, and will appear on the film’s soundtrack, released on November 22 on Radioactive/ MCA.

Meanwhile, Walker has written a soundtrack album, ‘Pola X OST’, which is due out early next month. The soundtrack is for French film Pola X, directed by Leos Carax and starring Catherine Deneuve. The soundtrack, which also features contributions from Smog and Sonic Youth, is released through the Barclay label.