Scott Walker and Sunn O))) to release ‘Soused’ LP in September

The LP is 50 minutes long and made up for five tracks

Scott Walker and Sunn O))) will release their collaborative album ‘Soused’ on September 22.

A press statement reveals that Sunn O))) initially approached Scott Walker and asked him to appear on their 2009 album ‘Monoliths & Dimensions’. However, he then went on to begin work on ‘Soused’, writing the project with the drone metal band in mind. The five track, 50-minute long ‘Soused’ was recorded in London earlier this year, with Walker and Peter Walsh on production, with assistance from musical director Mark Warman.

The ‘Soused’ tracklisting is:


‘Herod 2014’

Walker, now 71, found fame in the 1960s singing with The Walker Brothers. He released his solo debut ‘Scott’ in 1967 and followed it with ‘Scott 2’, ‘Scott 3’ and ‘Scott 4’. His baroque-styled chamber pop went on the influence the work of Julian Cope, Jarvis Cocker, The Last Shadow Puppets and The Divine Comedy. He has previously worked with Pulp and Bat For Lashes.

Walker signed to 4AD in 2004 and released ‘The Drift’ in 2006 and his most recent album, ‘Bish Bosh’, in 2012.

Sunn O))) formed in Washington in 1998. They released their debut album ‘ØØ Void’ in 2000 and their sixth album, the acclaimed ‘Monoliths & Dimensions’, in 2009. They have previously collaborated with experimental metal band Boris and released an album with Norwegian collective Ulver, called ‘Terrestrials’ earlier this year.