Scroobius Pip works with Sage Francis, Steve Mason, Zane Lowe on solo album

'Distraction Pieces' will be released on September 19

Scroobius Pip has broken ranks from his beat-making sparring partner Dan Le Sac to release his solo album, ‘Distraction Pieces’, on September 19.

Produced by Renholder, aka Danny Lohner, (Nine Inch Nails/A Perfect Circle), the album features collaborations with Sage Francis and extra production from Richard Russell of XL Recordings, Radio 1‘s Zane Lowe and Steve Mason. It will be released on Pip‘s own Speech Development label and features a cover of the Kate Bush track ‘Feel It’.

Of album track ‘Let ‘Em Come’, which features Francis, Pip said:

This was the song that made me want to make this record… it’s hard to sum up but I guess it’s about sticking at something that you are passionate about past those exciting first few years, and keeping that passion despite the obstacles and pitfalls.

‘Death of The Journalist’ sees Lowe in the producer’s chair. “This is about the effects the internet, blogs and developments in media have had on the art of journalism,” said Pip. Blues-influenced number ‘The Struggle’ is the Mason-produced track.

Work on the new Dan Le Sac vs Scroobius Pip album will start in 2012.

The tracklisting for ‘Distraction Pieces’ is:

‘Let ‘Em Come’
‘Domestic Silence’
‘Try Dying’
‘Death of The Journalist’
‘Soldier Boy (Kill Them)’
‘The Struggle’
‘Broken Promise’

Scroobius Pip plays London Hoxton Bar & Kitchen on August 18.

To check the availability of Scroobius Pip tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0871 230 1094.