Sean Lennon and Primus’ Les Claypool announce début album, stream new track ‘Mr. Wright’

The 'Lennon Claypool Delirium's début album 'Monolith of Phobos' expected this summer

Sean Lennon and Primus‘ Les Claypool have announced a new album project and are streaming a brand new single from the forthcoming LP, it was announced today (March 21).

The pair have formed a band called The Lennon Claypool Delirium, and mix ’60s psychedlic rock with Primus’ trademark, quieky bass led funk. The duo will release Monolith of Phobos on June 3 followed by a three month US tour, with the band also featuring Beastie Boys‘ Mark Ramos Nishita and Paul Baldi of the Fungi Band.

Listen to the album’s first track, ‘Mr. Wright,’ and view the LP artwork, below.


According to a press release, Claypool said “Sean is a musical mutant after my own heart. He definitely reflects his genetics – not just the sensibilities of his dad but also the abstract perspective and unique approach of his mother. It makes for a glorious freak stew.”

Of the recording set-up, he said, “Usually I play the drums and percussion on my records but Sean has such a different feel than I do, it just made more sense for him to man the kit on most of the tunes on this project. I took the helm at my old vintage API console and let him bang away. He was happy as a piggy rolling in shit every time he grabbed the sticks…his drumming is like a cross between Ringo and Nick Mason. But I think folks will be most surprised by what a monster guitar player he is, especially when you prod him a bit.”

Lennon also said: “It’s been an honor and a challenge playing with someone of Les’ caliber, but luckily the Gods of Pinot Noir shone favorably down and granted us a bundle of devilish tunes about monkeys, outer space and sexual deviancy.”

The Claypool Lennon Delirium – The Monolith of Phobos Track List


1. “The Monolith of Phobos”
2. “Cricket and the Genie (Movement I, the Delirium)”
3. “Cricket and the Genie (Movement II, Oratorio Di Cricket)”
4. “Mr. Wright”
5. “Boomerang Baby”
6. “Breath of a Salesman”
7. “Captain Lariat”
8. “Ohmerica”
9. “Oxycontin Girl”
10. “Bubbles Burst”
11. “There’s No Underwear in Space”