Secret Machines name new October-bound album

Band's third effort will be self-titled

Secret Machines have revealed that their forthcoming third album will be self-titled and released in October.

The album will be the first to feature the band’s new guitarist Phil Karnats, who has replaced Benjamin Curtis after he left the in March last year.

The follow-up to 2006’s ‘Ten Silver Drops’ was produced by Brandon Mason in New York. Titles of songs set for the album include ‘Atomic Hell’, ‘Dreaming Of Dreaming’ and ‘The Fire Is Waiting’.


Frontman Brandon Curtis, the brother of the aforementioned Benjamin, said the his sibling’s departure has helped shape the album’s sound.

“[It is] hard to describe,” he told Billboard. “We wanted to capture what the feeling was at the moment. We were worried about continuing the band [after Benjamin Curtis left), so you have that kind of darkness and stress.”