System Of A Down’s Serj Tankian announces new live album details and tracklisting

Tankian is joined by a 70-piece orchestra to run through solo album 'Elect The Dead'

System Of A Down frontman Serj Tankian has announced details and the tracklisting of a new live album.

Called ‘Elect The Dead Symphony’, the album sees Tankian run through his 2007 solo album ‘Elect The Dead’, accompanied by the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra. It will be released on March 8.

The performance took place at Auckland Town Hall in New Zealand on March 16, 2009.


Speaking about the gig, Tankian said he was “elated” to have worked with the orchestra. He added: “The arrangements are quite different than those on the record, including bonus tracks never played live.”

Out on CD and DVD, two previously unreleased songs are also included, called ‘Gate 21’ and ‘The Charade’. The album was mixed by Junkie XL.

As previously reported on NME.COM, System Of A Down bassist Shavo Odadjia has hinted that the rockers may be reuniting this year.

The tracklisting for ‘Elect The Dead Symphony’ is:

‘Feed Us’
‘Sky Is Over’
‘Lie Lie Lie’
‘Gate 21’
‘The Charade’
‘Honking Antelope’
‘Saving Us’
‘Elect The Dead’
‘Falling Stars’
‘Beethoven’s Cunt’
‘Empty Walls’