Sharon Van Etten announces new album release date, London show

The singer songwriter also shares the LP's tracklisting

Sharon Van Etten is set to release her new album, ‘Are We There?’, on May 26.

She will support the release of the follow up to 2012’s ‘Tramp’ with a one-off UK show at London’s KOKO on June 5, and will play Green Man Festival in August. Scroll down for the ‘Are We There?’ tracklisting.

Speaking to NME recently about the new album, Van Etten revealed that she used instruments used by John Lennon and Patti Smith in the recording of the LP.


Having feared that her popularity was a product of collaborating with members of bigger acts such as Beirut and The National, the album is self-produced with guests turns from more low-key musicians, such as Torres’ Mackenzie Scott, Lower Dens’ Jana Hunter and Efterklang affiliate Peter Broderick.

“I decided I needed to prove to myself that it was my songwriting,” Van Etten said, while promising “standard mid-tempo Sharon guitar ballads” for the record. Speaking about the sound of the album, she added: “My writing’s getting better and the arrangements are getting weirder, in a good way.”

The ‘Are We There’ tracklisting is:

‘Afraid of Nothing’
‘Taking Chances’
‘Your Love Is Killing Me’
‘Our Love’
‘I Love You But I’m Lost’
‘You Know Me Well’
‘Break Me’
‘Nothing Will Change’
‘I Know’
‘Every Time the Sun Comes Up’

To check the availability of Sharon Van Etten tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0844 858 6765